Dear HP, You Suck. Signed, Chris Wysocki

I have one of those HP all-in-one printer/copier/fax doohickeys.  And it mostly works.  But the software sucks ass.

So tonight I’m busily working away and it pops up its umpteenth “update now” box.  I always click “cancel”.  But this one said “critical update”.  So I clicked OK.

Big Mistake.

It rebooted my system without warning.  There was no time to save my work.

Thanks HP, that was really what I expected from a quality computer company.  Software that doesn’t warn you when it’s planning to trash everything you’ve done for the past hour and a half.  There was no “this update requires a reboot” to go along with “critical update”.  And unlike every other M$ program under the sun, no pointless Windows Vista “OK to continue” dialog box.  Which come to think of it wouldn’t have been all that pointless in this instance.

As it turns out I’m in the market for a new printer.

HP will not be considered.  I don’t know what you clowns think you’re doing in Cupertino, but I do know that Bill Hewlett and Dave Packard would not be amused.

Leave a Reply

